Mariyah Beauty Center in Riyadh

20121225-201724.jpg

Mariyah Center
Olaya Street
Riyadh
TEL: 011-464-0909

If there’s one thing that I dislike doing abroad, it is haircuts and blow drys. As a women, when you find that amazing hairdresser who can handle your hair and leave you looking stunning, you latch on to them and never let them go. I recall one family has a hairdresser, who’s roughly 80 years old, but has worked with the same family for 60 years now! On your staff rota, the hairdresser is perhaps the most important person. It’s all good and well having a hairdresser in your home town, but our ever increasingly international lives mean that when abroad, we also need a good hairdresser.

As this is my first haircut in Riyadh, I have nothing to compare it to aside from a haircut/blow dry at Dubai airport. Mariyah Beauty Center was recommended by several people, but I was hesitant to go. However, circumstances changed and in the end I needed to go and get a haircut.

The center is easily located – it is just in front of the Ibis hotel on Olaya Street. There is a sign that says Mariyah in front of the doors. In order to enter, one must press the buzzer and be buzzed in. Then you have to go up the stairs or take the lift to the floor with the hairdressers.

20121225-201731.jpg

Google Coordinates: 24.712183,46.675994

Upon entering, you will notice the salon is bright and airy. There are big comfortable sofas and a parrot who’s squawking is quite distressing. Poor little bird cooped up in the cage!

Anyway, let us move on to the haircut. You will be given a book to choose your haircut or you can tell the hairdresser exactly what you want. Mariyah is staffed by employees from the Philippines, who no doubt are some of the friendliest people in the world. (An important point to make here is that all the staff speak great English. I rwould not feel comfortable with someone who doesn’t speak English dealing with my hair.) There are the usual L’oreal Professional products, such as shampoos and hairsprays, used in the salon too.

What I loved about this place is the hairdresser was skilled, efficient and did a good job on my hair. The entire wash, cut and blow dry was 150 SAR. The center also offers manicures and pedicures. In addition, there is a snack shop and gift store. It is a beautiful place to meet and get away for a while. However, I don’t think I will go back for a haircut unless it is an emergency. Although my hair looked great, all the tugging and pulling from the blow dry meant my scalp was sore for three days. Sore scalp is a weird sensation.

I’ve attached the treatment and service list below. If you do visit Mariyah, I hope you have a great session!

mariyah

mariyah  1

13 responses to “Mariyah Beauty Center in Riyadh

    • Hello,

      I think if you call the centre they can answer this question.
      Unfortunately, I can’t recall whether they had threading or not.

  1. Why don’t you used the disposable towels in your beauty center it is better and healthy for the customers

  2. I am the event coordinator of the American Community of Riyadh and I am writing you today to let you know that we are planning a Health, Beauty and Wellness event on January 21, 2014.
    Mariyah Center is invited to participate in this ladies only event to have a table and promote your business and your services. There is no charge for you to have a table. We ask that you have information to hand to the guests and a raffle prize to be given at the end of the event. This could be a free pedicure or something on that order
    Let me know if you have any questions.
    Warmest regards,
    Azizah Bennett
    ACR Event Coordinator
    053-311-9113
    Bringing people together in the pursuit of happiness…
    http://www.acrs

  3. Hey thanks for the useful post. I just wanted to ask a quick question.. Is it a norm in Riyadh to take appointments from parlours? I only have to go for brow shape …do I need to call in advance for that too?

  4. hello i am member of avon cosmetics company i would like to ask you if you wanna any product of avon you can contact me inshaa ALLAH i will give you the special discount and also i will thankful to you contact number (0596626857) i will for your response thanks a lot

  5. Dear beautay i am looking for excellent experience of pakistan or indain leades as a best beauty parlor, cause i have anew salon in riyadh and i have proudect of beauty services,whaiting peleing , and ineed one do hana please any one intresting transfer iqama she can call me 0547453010.ihave good salary bounas ticket

    • I have done professional beautician diploma from Islamabad Pakistan , and currently i am working in a well reputed Parlor in Islamabad.
      I want to join your parlor for my best future.

      Regards,
      Farzana Ahmed.

  6. Pingback: List of Beauty Salons/Make-Up Artists in Riyadh | Desert Enlightenment·

Leave a Reply

