Easy herbs to grow at home

20130521-001125.jpg

One of the most common questions asked is “What can I grow at home, when I have a small amount of space?”

These are six of the easiest herbs to grow at home from seed. Most garden centres also have baby herb plants that you can take home and grow into a larger plant. These herbs need some light, either through sun lights or by placing them next to a window for part of the day.

They require little maintenance, aside from watering. You can feed an organic liquid fertiliser if you want to increase the yield of the herbs.

I don’t know if you’ve ever tasted your own organic herbs, but I have to tell you that the taste will blow you away! We grow our own coriander (cilantro), and when I first made guacamole with just the onion, cilantro, lime juice and avocado, our tastebuds were buzzing with delight! Despite using organic cilantro for the guacamole before, nothing beats fresh coriander straight from the plant to your mouth. You’ve got to try it!

Oh, if you’re in Riyadh and want an organic thai sweet basil plant, please send me an email. We have too many at last count! And for the next growing season (starting at the end of September), if you want us to start a herb plant for you and you live in Riyadh, send an email and we’ll be happy to do that. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have fun growing now!

4 responses to “Easy herbs to grow at home

  1. Hello, Thanks for sharing this. I have been trying to plant basil but its not successful. How can I get an organic thai sweet basil plant? I am here in Riyadh. You can email me enavea16@gmail.com. Thanks.

    • Hi Enrico,

      I will let you know if we have any left over basil plants in a few weeks, when I’m back in Riyadh.

      Did you grow your basil from seed or buy the plant?

      Best,

      Sarah

  2. Hello , thanks for your blog. Can you plant some of these herbs for me? I am coming to Riyadh next week to live and work [fiiiinally got the visas] Also , is it possible to have a worm farm in Riyadh and where could I get worms from?

    • Hi Shareef,

      Congratulations on getting the visa. Unfortunately I don’t plant herbs for other people. They are pretty easy to plant so you can do it yourself or go to Sultan Garden Centre and hire some workers to plant them for you.

      We had a worm factory but the worms died because it got too hot in the summer, despite the workers being indoors and with AC control. We ordered the worms from Europe as we couldn’t find a worm supplier in Riyadh.

Leave a Reply

